McCall’s Winter Wishlist

27 Aug

Egads! McCall’s are already releasing their winter collection… in August! Okay, so it’s the end of August but still?!

(ETA: Sewingpatterns.com have these new release patterns on sale for USD$2.99 right now)

I’m on a limited budget so my spending’s on hold but here are the ones I found interesting:

McCall’s 6433: I admit I’m swayed by that lovely red wine colour of the photo but still it has some nice details.

Maybe over a long-sleeved tee and tights. Plus it’s a Palmer/Pletsch pattern so it’s guaranteed to have good fitting instructions.

McCall’s 6435: I like this look but I think I can make do with So Zo’s cute tutorial.

McCall’s 6439: This skirt has some interesting design elements but I think they would be a little bulky on my hips.

McCall’s 6446: Cute little capes for winter although I have had my eye on Papercut Pattern’s delish Milano Cape (below) and I’d prefer to support an independent designer, especially a Kiwi.

6 Responses to “McCall’s Winter Wishlist”

  1. Sølvi August 27, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    That´s so funny, I just ordered 6439 this morning. I couldn´t resist the pockets and the lovely ruffle detail. I´ll report back on how the construction is! 🙂

    • lazystitcher August 27, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      Ooo… can’t wait to see what you do with it. I’m sure it’ll be fantastic!

  2. Brumby August 27, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Yes I too want to whip up a couple of the sweatheart neckline bodices, they seem practical, and I need a few cute and simple staples in my wardrobe!
    Yay you for wanting to support indies, and I highly encourage it, but… my personal thoughts are that if you can do a FBA, then I am sure you can draft up a cape pattern yourself…. it will save you coin, plus give you a new skill/challenge/sense of pride etc etc

  3. Stevie August 28, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I totally saw the Milano cape before and loved it! I already have a cape pattern lined up but if i didn’t this would be it. Also the t-shirt. If you already have colette macaron dress I’d just use that! But Zoe’s tutes are normally pretty good!

  4. Lakaribane August 29, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    I like the first two. No winter around here but that dress is so cute! And I love the top.

  5. michael ann September 12, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    oh gosh, i need to get busy sewing! these are fabulous patterns, i really like that bustier top, and am definitely going to check out the tutorial you linked to. thanks!

Leave a Reply

