Colette Patterns Fall Palette Challenge

21 Sep

This autumn Sarai & Caitlin from Colette Patterns are reprising their palette challenge from Spring with the Fall Palette Challenge.

I’m really excited to participate as my feeble attempt at Self-Stitched-September has been hamstringed by my lack not just a lack of self-stitched clothing, but clothing in general. In fact, my entire wardrobe since moving to London consists of:

  • 1 pair jeans
  • 2 tee shirts
  • 1 shirt
  • 2 tops
  • 1 skirt
  • 2 dresses
  • 1 jacket
  • 1 coat
  • under garments, pjs, tights etc.

People pack more than this when they go on vacation.

I’ve had a really chilled summer and the only people I know over here are family so there hasn’t been a need for pretty new clothes but summer is fading and the time has come to start job-hunting so the challenge has appeared in perfect time.

So here goes. The challenge is low stress and spread over 8 weeks, although I’m going to run it out to the end of the year and try for a few more items.

The first step is to pick a palette for the season. Over on pinterest, I’ve been happily collecting inspiration on a fall pinboard, as have many other participants,  then I mashed some of them together and came up with this:

(Visit pinterest for the sources)

I love the intensity of the almost neon yellows and golds against the warm ashy greys of the tree trunks so that was my start point.

It was so hard to narrow down the choices though so instead of just four or five colours I picked a range of neutrals and fancy colours that will hopefully all work together and incorporates some of the RTW items I already have.

As you can see the iron oxide orange picks up on the colour of my Rooibos dress so I’m counting that one as my first item just so I can say I’m not as behind as I could be.

The next step is to plan the other items in the challenge but I’m still finalising my picks so that will have to wait till next time.

x Alana

5 Responses to “Colette Patterns Fall Palette Challenge”

  1. Becky September 21, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I love your palette colors! They’re so warm and inviting. That sounds like a huge challenge, having to basically make your entire wardrobe (I know I wouldn’t get by on so few clothes, but then, sewing made me a clothesaholic)–best of luck with it!

  2. Brumby September 21, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Have being admiring your pins for a while – was wondering when a blog post was coming. Looks like you’ll be busy, sometimes a blank canvas is the best approach with a wardrobe, you analyze it with a broad picture point of view…practical pieces in corresponding colours, it’s a great recipe for success in my mind!

    • lazystitcher September 21, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      Fingers crossed! I think it’ll be okay as long as the mojo fairy sticks around but she can be a fickle little cow sometimes 😉

      • Brumby September 22, 2011 at 12:11 am #

        Wow, our fairies must be related, mine too!!!

  3. lsaspacey September 22, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Love your palette colors too! I hope you find all of those shades so that you can then tell us where you got them. Those are the most fabulous colors, especially that iron oxide, petrol blue and golden ochre!

Leave a Reply

