Liberty Tee: Colette Sorbetto

6 Oct

So you know that word game, fortunately/unfortunately?

Well it’s quite fitting for this project, so here goes.

I needed to make a muslin for the white lace tee in my fall challenge wardrobe.

Fortunately, I am using Colette’s Sorbetto Pattern which I’ve made previously so the muslin is just to check the fit of the sleeves.

Unfortunately, I strongly dislike making muslins that will be thrown away at the end of a project.

Fortunately, I was reading g r a i n l i ne and saw Jen’s cute new Scout Woven Tee Pattern which she’d made in a Liberty of London fabric.

image source: g r a i n l i n e studio

Unfortunately, the pattern would have to be graded up 4 sizes to fit me.

Fortunately, it reminded me I had a scant metre of tana lawn from the Liberty remnants bin. (Yes, I made a muslin from Liberty fabric).

Unfortunately, it really was scant so I couldn’t add any length to the Sorbetto bodice and I had to have the patterns going opposite directions on the front and back.

Fortunately, I managed to squeeze it out of the fabric.

Unfortunately, I cut it the wrong way and wound up with two left sleeves (which is so much worse than two left feet when it comes to sewing).

Fortunately, they still set in okay.

Unfortunately, I attached the bias binding for one sleeve to the wrong side and had to unpick it.

Fortunately, I distracted myself from the tedium of un-picking with my pretend husband Jon Stewart and the Daily Show (seriously he’s the only person who has me laughing in a room by myself. Wit and intelligence is hot!).

Unfortunately, I was so distracted guffawing that I went and sewed the binding on backwards again.

Fortunately, third times a charm and I really liked the finish.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough bias binding to finish the hem the same way to preserve as much length as possible.

Fortunately, Allison C. posted this tip for baby hems last week and it worked a treat.

Phew, done! And I love it.

 

13 Responses to “Liberty Tee: Colette Sorbetto”

  1. chicaandaluza October 6, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    What a great post – your style of sewing sounds exactly like mine! Well done for ending up with a gorgeous top 🙂

  2. little betty October 6, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Sometimes things are just meant to be – looks great

  3. liza jane October 6, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    That cracks me up that you made a muslin from Liberty! It looks great. I love your necklace.

  4. Rachel October 6, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    It looks perfect! It was clearly meant to be

  5. Susan October 7, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    I love your top and this post! Unfortunatley, I haven’t made myself clothes in a long time. Fortunately, your blog inspires me to change that and get busy sewing!

  6. Emma Topping October 7, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Looks gorgeous! well done on the baby hem I need to give it a go! xx

  7. Suzie October 7, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Great post! The top looks lovely….even if it is only a muslin (made out of Liberty fabric!)! lol.

  8. Cecili October 8, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    I love it, it’s extremely pretty and it suits you so well!

  9. Zoe October 8, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Oooh, that is TOTALLY lovely! I love Jon Stewart too! He is so damn hot. He could sit there and explain the ins and outs of US politics to me anyday… But anyways, back to your top, it’s seriously lovely and looks awesome with jeans, great work lady! xxx

  10. Sølvi October 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Gorgeous top and a lovely post! and I echo you on Mr. Stewart. Unfortunately he is too short for me. Fortunately I have a tall boyfriend who loves Daily Show just as much as I do! 😉

  11. puu2 October 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    what a great way to use such fun fabric!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. mail order 1769: i had to have it, but am i really making it work? | puu's door of time - October 19, 2011

    […] Lazy Stitching – Liberty Sorbetto […]

  2. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    […] Column (top to bottom): Floral Skirt, Liberty Tee, Minoru Sweater […]

Leave a Reply

