This picture bemuses me…

18 Oct

All images from burdafashion.com

This is a preview image from the November Burdastyle Magazine and when I came across it, I admit I did a double take.

The first thing was the cigarette she’s inhaling. I guess it’s a sign of the times that smoking is so rarely seen in print now that it seemed so odd. When I was 8 years old, a tobacco advertising ban came into effect in New Zealand, so I always find it strange to see cigarette ads in magazines, and whist this, of course, is not an advertisement, for me it fits in the same category. It’s not that I think a child will see this image and be inspired to start smoking, it’s just that it seems like such an antiquated idea to use it as a prop in their annual ‘formal gown’ section like it’s a sign of all things glamorous.

Is it just me who finds it weird?

On to the second confounding thing in the image – it doesn’t show you much of the dress now, does it? It’s a shame, really, because when you actually see it, it’s a stunner.

My favourite pattern in the November issue.

Not really done justice by the stylist making the unclad cigarette lady clutch it to her bosom.

9 Responses to “This picture bemuses me…”

  1. chicaandaluza October 18, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I agree – am very surprised by the cigarette! Burda have some great patterns, but they also seem to be outdoing themselves on weirdness lately too!

  2. rachel October 18, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    That is a really odd photo. I really don’t like their use of a cigarette.

  3. lin3arossa October 18, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    I think this is Barbara Schöneberger, a German entertainer. She likes to provoke.

  4. Sølvi October 19, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Burda have been known to have some crazy styling, that is for sure, sometimes I just open the magazine directly on the page with the technical drawings, just to get a clearer view on how the actual garments looks. 🙂

  5. didyoumakethat October 19, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    I do think it’s a beautiful dress and that shade is gorgeous. I could forgive them the cooky styling if there were other photos that showed more dress details and the dress, um, being worn!

  6. Law October 19, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    That pic is so weird and it really doesn’t show off the dress pattern at all. Her arm is right across all the detail of the dress!

  7. lazystitcher October 19, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I guess we can add wacky burda styling to the things you can always count on… along with death and taxes.
    @lin3arrosa: Thanks for the additional context 🙂

  8. Vicki Kate October 30, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Very weird! The cigarette is just wrong in my opinion but the dress when you see it properly is divine! The dog does look a little bemused…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    […] people found their way onto this post via wordpress and were bitterly dissapointed to find a post on Burda Magazine’s questionable […]

Leave a Reply

