New McCall’s: (finally a collection not on crack)

21 Dec

I say it with love I promise. I have some perfectly wonderful McCall’s patterns it’s just sometimes they take their brand position of being the younger, funkier of the BMV (Butterick/McCall’s/Vogue) collective a little too seriously.

The collection released today, however, has lowered the wtf value considerably. Here are the ones on my wishlist for the next sale.

M6519: I would make and wear all of these drapey separates. I love it as a wardrobe collection.

M6505: I love the lace overly and the V at the back.

M6503: Nice and simple and would work in lots of different fabrics.

M6511: Interesting piecing and for once I really like the fabrics they’ve used.

M6504: Simple but with a lovely drape to the skirt.

M6518: Like an asymmetrical Coffee Date Dress.

M6507/M6506: These are two lovely dress patterns by Tracy Reese who usually does Vogue releases.

M6517: Finally a decent raincoat pattern, perfect for laminated cottons.

M6515/M6514: Okay, so these two pants patterns are a little cracked out but I can’t resist wide legged trousers.

All images via mccallpattern.mccall.com.

12 Responses to “New McCall’s: (finally a collection not on crack)”

  1. lsaspacey December 21, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    Wow, you are right! I like almost every one of these, way to go McCalls! I personally think they do have some cool patterns but that they have major problems when styling them. I more want imaginative, drapey, asymmetrial, and almost-Japanese in design patterns available, so I’ll keep letting them do what they do and I’ll just focus on the line drawings. 6519 and 6503 may have just answered my prayers for a fabric I want a dress in but can’t commit to a pattern. Again, thanks for the alert!

  2. Suzie December 21, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I agree, some really decent designs here – thanks for sharing them with us (argh….more things I want! lol).

  3. andreahg December 21, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I think I want every single one of the dress patterns. I’m not sure how I feel about the return of huge trousers, though. Being short and fat, I tend to stick to a straight, slimmer leg, like classic jeans. The skinny trouser doesn’t work for more, nor does the wide legged trouser.

  4. Katarina December 21, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Not sure we could get them here in Germany besides maybe online but there are some very nice details in the designs. I especially like the closure of the wrap dress in the first picture. I’m going to keep that in the back of my mind

  5. molly December 21, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    There’s definitely a little bit of wtf still, but there are some nice patterns this time around. I like that first wardrobe pattern you mentioned. And it’s pretty cool that Tracy Reese is doing (presumably) original designs for McCall’s instead of just runway remakes for Vogue, though I like those too!

  6. prttynpnk December 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Nice staple items- good shapes- what on earth were they thinking?

  7. aviewintomyworld December 21, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    excellent headline 😉
    that first one, 6505 is pretty cool giving you all of those variations, could make the basis of a handy work wardrobe if one was so inclined…

  8. Suzy December 22, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Nice! I’m loving the 6503 and 6506 skirt dress looks and I love the wide leg pants 6515 – I can never resist them either!

  9. VickiKate December 22, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    6505 and 6504 for me! No WTF from this selection!

  10. Lakaribane December 23, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    My feelings exactly! My favorite is the wardrober and Tracy Reese is on autobuy, just for the principle of Cool Current Designer but we have many of the same picks.

  11. Nikki December 23, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Oh, what a brilliant selection! I want, I want!! Wonder if it’s too late to ask for Christmas? 🙂 I’m in agreement with VickiKate 6504 and 6505 for me! Love them!

  12. Lisa December 28, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    I love all the ones you have selected too. I love your title so apt !!!

Leave a Reply

