Personal Post

10 Jan

I almost accidently uploaded my CV instead of an image, which is why I’m taking a wee break.

Hey guys,

The job hunting situation in London has me a little consumed at the moment so I’m going to take a blogging break for a couple of weeks. I appreciate all the support you guys give me and I didn’t want to just drop off the face of the earth. Hopefully I can manage a post here or there and I’ll be checking in on twitter but I need to be head down, bum up right now or there’ll be no money for sewing at all.

xo Alana

42 Responses to “Personal Post”

  1. Seraphinalina January 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    I can appreciate that you need to focus elsewhere. Good luck and I look forward to your return.

  2. Marie January 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Sorry to hear your tricky situation, but good luck and I hope something amazing comes along for you soon! Concentrating on the job hunt at the moment is a wise thing to do, we’ll all be waiting for you right here ;o)

  3. House of Pinheiro January 10, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    hi darling.. its not easy at all.. wishing all the best and I’m sure will work out. xx

  4. CGCouture January 10, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Good luck with the job hunt! 🙂

  5. Debi January 10, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    You’ll be missed! But good luck with the job hunt!!

  6. Dibs January 10, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Goodluck on the job hunt Alana. I know how difficult it is jobwise now out there, but stay positive, and I’m sure something will come up soon.

  7. Sandy January 10, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Good luck, my dear. I hope you find a job you love. I’ll look forward to seeing you again later.

  8. Joanne January 10, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Good luck Alana. Let us know how you get on

  9. Kimberly January 10, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Job markets are pretty rough all over right now & I can truly relate. Best of luck with your search and hopefully you’ll be employed and back with us here in blogland asap!

  10. CamberwellGal January 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Commiserations and sympathy from another London on the job hunting; it’s exhausting emotionally and mentally, and gives me at least, a good dose of paranoia (I may sew, but I don’t blog – my industry doesn’t really care for people having interests outside of it, especially in frivolous things like clothes and craft, and are assiduous Googlers…god love universities). Although your blog would make an amazing portfolio if you work in the graphic/illustrating line?

    Anyway, all I wanted to add was an excellent piece of advice I had from my then housemate when I was job-hunting in the summer and various other periods before (fixed term contracts…why?): ‘It only takes one person/employer to say yes to all your efforts and applications.

  11. lsaspacey January 10, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    We all know that there MUST be money for sewing so get out there and come back with an amazing job. Good luck!

  12. Kerry January 10, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    Good luck with your job hunt, I’m sure the right thing is out there for you.

  13. Lizz @ A Good Wardrobe January 10, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Wishing you the best in your job search. We’ll be here when you return!

  14. VickiKate January 10, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    Good Luck Sweetie x

  15. oonaballoona January 10, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    i feel you, i almost cut and pasted my home address into a comment box yesterday. STRESS.

    good luck nailing the perfect job, we’re rooting for you!

  16. gingermakes January 10, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Good luck! Hoping you find a good job that suits you quickly!

  17. Suzy January 10, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Hope you find something nice real soon!! I’ll miss you but I understand!

  18. Suzie January 10, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    You will be missed here on blogland, but wishing you all the best with your hunt and hope something good turns up for you soon. xxx

  19. Brumby January 10, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Sending you much luck, you’ll find something soon I’m sure, you’re too kiss arse not to!

  20. Brumby January 10, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Ba ha, that should’ve been kick not kiss, gotta love auto correct!

  21. Suzy January 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Good luck with the job hunting!

  22. Sarah January 10, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Good luck Alana!! Sending good job mojo your way! I hope to still see you on Pinterest… It wouldn’t be the same without you!

  23. Reana Louise January 10, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Oh girl, you need a job! I’m looking forward to your exciting post about the super-awesome-crazy job where you’re earning a billion pounds a year. Huzzah! x

  24. Chiara de Nardi January 10, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    good luck!!! what kind of work are you looking for? my employer is recruiting, wish i could send you a personal message with details but don’t know how?

  25. lizajanesews January 10, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Good luck with the search!

  26. paige p January 10, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    Good luck!

    PS you gave me the courage to post my own croquis!

    http://mylife.luxperdiem.com/2012/01/real-talk-croquis.html

  27. Marybeth January 11, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    Hi! Good luck with the job search! You’ll be missed, and looking forward to hearing from you again soon!!!

  28. Tina January 11, 2012 at 3:31 am #

    Good luck, Alana. I’m in the same boat (sorta). I took a year “off” to live abroad with my beau and when we got back, we moved to Philadelphia, PA. The job situation here is pretty dire. I’ve been searching for about a year with no luck. It’s very stressful, so it is understandable if you need the time. Best of luck!

    Tina
    http://retrorabbithole.blogspot.com/

  29. catherinedaze January 11, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Best of luck with the job hunt! I hope something wonderful turns up soon.

  30. Tamsin January 11, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    hope all foes well and the job search proves fruitful

  31. peggyspickles January 11, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Good luck with the job hunt – I know how you feel having been there myself. We met at Drink, Shop & Do with the pillowcase dress evening I ran, but if you fancy meeting up again when you need a break then let me know, Alison xx

  32. Linda January 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Good luck in your search…your absence will be missed! Hope you find your dream job soon.

  33. Sallie January 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Best of luck with the job hunt – here’s hoping you find something sooner rather than later. We’ll all be here when you get back.

  34. Tilly January 11, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Good luck with the job hunt. Stay positive and see it as a great opportunity to reflect on your strengths and interests and develop your skills.

  35. Zoe January 11, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Best of luck with the job hunting honey! Just in case you didn’t see this: http://sozowhatdoyouknow.blogspot.com/2012/01/brighton-de-stash-meet-up.html

    Would be so awesome if you could make it. I was thinking about you and thinking how this would be a great opportunity to develop a stash gratis (aside from the train ticket and lunch money). You won’t need to bring anything to swap and you won’t go home empty handed I promise!

    Hope to see you soon
    Zoe xxx

  36. Marie January 11, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    All the best on the job front. I hope you land an awesome job soon.

  37. didyoumakethat January 11, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Aw, I will very much miss your posts, but understand the need to focus your energy elsewhere. Stay strong, stay upbeat, remember that every interview is you interviewing them as much as they are interviewing you. An employer would be lucky to have you in their team!I wish I could wave a magic job wand, but I don’t think they’re giving those out at the moment… Sending big hugs!

  38. Mary Danielson January 13, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    Good luck, Alana! Wishing you a speedy hunt that brings lots of future pocket change for sewing ephemera. We’ll keep the fires burning for you in blogland, chica. 🙂

  39. Shona January 13, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Good luck! I was in that situation just over a year ago when I moved to Florida. It’s the worst! Sign up with every reputable temp agency in town, that’s the only way I finally got hired on.

  40. Nikki January 14, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    Good luck and keep at it girl! I’ve been trying to organise my move to your home country, apply for jobs and keep up with reading all the blogs I subscribe to. I’ll give you one guess which as gone by the way side! 🙂
    I will give your love to NZ when I arrive on 31st. Hope to hear you’ve got a job in the next post!
    Big hugs!

  41. Geri January 14, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Woah job hunting in London is TOUGH! (Especially when your not from round these ways). It took me 6 months to get my foot in the door, so I really do know how you feel. Ironically the first job I got was temping for a recruitment agency – however it was great for picking up insider knowledge in the who job-recruitment process. I’d be more than happy to pass on any tips that might be helpful, so feel free to give me a bell (bluebitten[at]gmail.com). Anyway, go hard and good luck!

  42. Stephanie January 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    job hunting is tough and soul-destroying! poor you! wish you al the best and look forward to your blog retun!

Leave a Reply

