Gertie’s Crepe Sew-along #1: Bodice Muslin

12 Dec

I took a short break this afternoon to catch-up with Gertie’s Crepe Sew-along. The first step was to cut out the muslin, thread trace the seam lines and baste together.

After hearing other peoples feedback that the bust is amply cut in the Crepe (even more so than Colette’s other patterns) I decided to forgo a Full Bust Adjustment in the first instant and go with the measurements on the envelope. My bust-waist-hip measurements are 44″-37.5″-48.5″ which equated to a 16 at the bust and 18 at the waist and hips.

The math seems right but once again when it’s all stitched up there are a few issues that are puzzling me.

Random loose fabric pooling under the bust but snug at the waist. Should I let the vertical darts out a bit at the bottom?

Excess fabric at the arm hole – this could be the design or maybe I should just give in and complete an FBA as the bust fit is pretty snug too.

At the back I’m getting the same sleeve issue and some pulling across the middle. Maybe I need to grade up a size?

Too much for my brain on a Sunday afternoon so I’m off to ponder it with a beer in the sun as all good pondering should be done 🙂

4 Responses to “Gertie’s Crepe Sew-along #1: Bodice Muslin”

  1. laurwyn December 13, 2010 at 4:06 am #

    I have no idea… I still must get started… Maybe a FBA could work, but a small one. That is the magic of muslins, do it again! Until you are fed up with it 😉

  2. knitbunnie December 13, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    I left a comment on Flickr, but I wanted to be sure you saw it. I think you’ve pulled the back piece around too far. Gertie’s BLOG says, “Note that the back won’t wrap all the way to the side seams; it will just cover the back dart. Pin the back wrap in place.” I did the same thing with my first fitting on my daughter. I have to do it again now that I read Gertie’s note.

  3. alison December 13, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    To me it looks like the bodice is a just little too long for your torso(between the bust and the waist) and possibly in need of a very small FBA? Bust area actually looks pretty good but the waist darts show some pulling and could be let out a tad

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gertie’s Crepe Sew-along #2: Bodice Muslin Take Two « Lazy Stitching - December 17, 2010

    […] I basted my bodice together and photographed it in the last post before reading the instructions clearly. Thankfully a lovely commenter knitbunnie pointed out that […]

Leave a comment