Independent Pattern Designers: Victory Patterns

18 Dec

Something pretty for your Sunday.

I remember stumbling across the Colette Sewing Handbook on Amazon before Sarai had announced it on her blog, and the feeling of this is way too good to be real that came across me. This newly launched pattern line gave me that same exact feeling. It’s like Colette Patterns had a sassy little sister and is a great way to get you through the time between Colette’s releases.

Victory Patterns is the baby of Toronto designer and sewing/drafting teacher Kristiann Boos.

My intent is to produce fashionable and unique sewing patterns for various skill levels, that will inspire people to continue learning the craft. I wanted to design the patterns with a mix of vintage and modern styling and to create pieces that could be dressed up or down. The awesome thing about patterns is that they’re so interpretive, and when garments are made from them, no two are alike. I love the ability to inject your own personality into it, and i’m really excited to see what beautiful things you end up making from them!

– Kristiann  Boos

I think it’s a lovely approach to have and the designs really live up to it.

This one I purchased immediately. It’s so simple but effective and works well with the solid colours I always seem to choose. It sent me straight to Walthamstow market to choose some fabric and I can’t wait to get started.

The details make these patterns so interesting to me. Check out the way the seams intersect in the Lola  dress, the optional pleating on the Ava, and the chevrons, yoke, and pintucks of the Anouk.

The patterns are all download and print versions and retail on the Victory Patterns site for CAD$10.00 which feels like a pretty good bargain for the quality. The instructions are beautifully  clear and designed, incorporating both diagrams and photos to illustrate the steps. The sizes are similar to independent pattern designers like Colette and Sewaholic ranging from 2-16.

Finding new pattern designers emerging online is one of the coolest aspects of this digital sewing community and being able to support independent retailers who have put so much effort into actually going for it makes me happy.

Here are some other inspiring independent pattern makers I’ve come across:

  • GRAINLINE STUDIOS Jen is currently working flat tack not just on her fashion label HOUND but also expanding her pattern range.
  • MEGAN NEILSEN Megan is one of the few people out there offering a range of maternity patterns and is also launching regular patterns from her eponymous clothing line.
  • PATTERN RUNWAY Their classic kimono sleeved dress and scalloped shorts have been popping up across the blogsphere.
  • SALME PATTERNS Deceptively simple classic designs.

Feel free to add your favourites in the comments too.

I’ll be back tomorrow hopefully with my new Hazel dress.

Images all via VictoryPatterns.com

Photographer: Celine Kim

25 Responses to “Independent Pattern Designers: Victory Patterns”

  1. prttynpnk December 18, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    oooh! I want, I want! Thanks for sharing this- those look like a lot of fun. I love the shapes- especially anouk!

  2. Alison Cummins December 18, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Thank you for this! These are fabulous.

  3. Kim December 18, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Thank you for sharing these! They aren’t normally necklines that work for me but a couple of them are so cute I might just have to try them. Do you know what cup size they draft for?

    • lazystitcher December 18, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

      No, but the measurements are pretty close to Colette Patterns so I’d say probably a C-cup 🙂

  4. Katarina December 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Can’t agree more. The Anouk dress has to be made! Soon! Thanks for pointing out these pattern designers to us. Have a nice weekend.

  5. Vicki Kate December 18, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    ThankyouChloe and aChloe and Ava are amazing! Thank you for introducing them to me! I must be good and not splurge until after Christmas!

  6. Jane December 18, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Ooh thank you for this Alana, I’d never heard of Victory Patterns or any of the others you mention but I’ll definitely look them all up now. I also feel strongly about supporting independent pattern companies so this is a really useful post – thanks. The Hazel dress looks adorable, I can’t wait to see yours finished and hear how it was to make. x

  7. Mema December 18, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Thank you for the new post, it is very interesting. I like the kind you work with fabric and your kind how you fit your clothes. Reading your blog, I learned a lot of tricks and you give me encouragement to do it on my own way.
    ..and please apologise my bad English.
    Mema

  8. molly December 18, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    I love finding new pattern designers online! Their patterns are so much more “now” were as big company patterns tend to be behind quite a bit.

  9. Lizz @ A Good Wardrobe December 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I’m always on the hunt for new independent designers and I’m thrilled to be introduced to Victory Patterns! Thanks!

  10. Brumby December 18, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Love the chevron detailing, but then I am a little biased towards chevron for obvious reasons (i.e I ha be a jewelry collection dedicated to it!). The other one would be Papercut, http://felt.co.nz/shop/papercut – I’ve not used them but her Watson jacket is an adorable blend of cape and coat http://felt.co.nz/listing/33357/1006-Watson-Jacket

  11. rachel December 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Thanks for this Alana – I LOVE the Ava – think I’m going to buy it today!!

  12. Kat December 18, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Thanks for sharing these patterns! I really love Ava. I can’t wait to see how you go making the first pattern.

  13. Crystal December 18, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Wow, these are great. A new pattern line to obsessively collect.

  14. Kerry December 19, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Ooh, I’ve not heard of them before, some lovely patterns too.

  15. Crystal December 19, 2011 at 1:42 am #

    I just noticed, if you buy through her etsy site, there is a discount option of 3 patterns for $25

  16. Caroline December 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Great post! I bought the Hazel pattern a couple of weeks ago but haven’t yet got round to picking any fabric for it. I’m looking forward to seeing what your version looks like!

  17. dixie December 19, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Thanks so much for posting these, all of the links. I’m always looking for new pattern designers (as the big four get pretty dull). I’d second Paper Cut patterns, although I’ve never used them before, I love the designs.

  18. lsaspacey December 20, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Oooh, these are lovely. Hazel is also my favorite though it might be all up to that incredible color combination. I might have to try that out. Curious to see what two colors you used. Thanks!

  19. CGCouture December 21, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Hey thanks for posting about these. I saw this the other day and just got around to checking out the sites–I love the Victory patterns, and have a few of them on my wishlist to pick up with my Christmas money. 🙂

  20. Becky December 21, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Those look like a lot of fun! And I like that a lot of the patterns seem to have both dress and shirt options. Dresses are cute and fun to sew, but realistically, I wear separates on a much more regular basis. So that would be a much more practical option for me, and I’m always on the lookout for fun tops!

  21. mujerboricua December 21, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this! I love that Pattern Runway Kimono dress. I’ve seen such pretty versions of it. And I just bought the Megan Nielsen Darling Range pattern. Can. Not. Wait. to make it.

  22. Caroline December 29, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    Thanks for the heads up – so great to see so many new independent pattern companies!

  23. Kathy January 10, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    Maybe you’ve seen this list of indie pattern designers … it’s a pretty juicy list 🙂 Perhaps you’ve seen it already.
    http://agoodwardrobe.com/2011/12/22/independent-pattern-designers/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Victory Patterns Follow-Up « Lazy Stitching - January 5, 2012

    […] This post proved mighty popular so I thought you might be interested (if you haven’t seen it already!) … […]

Leave a comment