Fall Palette Challenge: Double-knit Pencil Skirt, Two Ways

9 Dec

Just a quick post today which is very appropriate given these skirts can be easily whipped up in an evening.

There really isn’t a lot to add as I’ve already sung the joys of both double-knit (Bonus Christmas Dress, Amazing Fit Dress, Gertie Dress) and Burdastyle’s Jenny Skirt pattern (here, here, here, and more).

I found the fabric during this trip to Walthamstow market for £2.20/metre from Classic Textiles which is a stupidly good price.

I bought a metre and a half, just planning on making this classic version (only alterations were addition of a back vent and halving the waistband height) but there was enough left over make the mini version(ok so this counts as mini for me) below.

For the second skirt I used the jenny pattern and all the length of the fabric left over. From the scraps I cut a strip the length of my waist measurement and about 3in wide. I used an invisible zip on both skirts and this double knit has enough stretch that I was able to use it to make a standard waistband. Then on a whim I added little patch pockets to the front.

This is probably the most realistic picture of what I wear most days. It was just a whim to make this version but I swear it has become one of the most worn thing in my wardrobe.

4 hours, £3, 2 skirts, 1 very happy camper.

Ps. Yup, I’m still working on the Colette Pattern Fall Palette Challenge. You can see the details and progress so far by clicking the ‘Fall Wardrobe‘ link at the top of the page.

7 Responses to “Fall Palette Challenge: Double-knit Pencil Skirt, Two Ways”

  1. mujerboricua December 9, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    This post was written at the perfect time. I’ve been wondering what would be my next skirt pattern! And now I know. Thanks!

    Your skirts are fabulous and they can definitely be dress up and dressed down. I love garments like that. Great buy and great make.

  2. Elizabeth December 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I love both of your skirts. Well done eke-ing out the second one!

  3. catherinedaze December 9, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Isn’t it funny how the non-obvious projects turn out to be favourites? Your skirt looks great. I really must work my way up to printing out that pattern and making it!

  4. Brumby December 9, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Yay, you are cranking through the projects at the moment!

  5. Sølvi December 9, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Mmm…delicious skirts! I have had a black pencil on my to-do list for ages, but never get around to actually making one. A pink one I can do. But black? Not so much. I am intrigued by all of your double-knit adventures, I might drop out of my stash-busting challenge, and get a meter or two, just to see how it is to work with.:-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    […] Column (top to bottom): 2 Double-knit Jennys, Brumby-Blue Dress, Sew Grateful Dress, White Lace […]

  2. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    […] Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto // The Colour-blocked Blouse // Double-knit Jenny Skirt // Linen Rooibos Dress // White Lace […]

Leave a comment